The Lighthouse Award – Oh Yeah!

the-lighthouse-award1

My first blogging award – jackpot! To Kate Loveton at ‘Odyssey of a Novice Writer,’ thanks so much for the nomination! Your blog is an inspiration to aspiring writers everywhere.

If you haven’t stopped by to check out Kate’s blog, what are you waiting for?!? Click here now!

Now for the fine print. In accepting the Lighthouse Award nomination, there are several requirements which allow me to pay it for forward to other fellow bloggers:

• Display the award certificate on your blog.
• Write a post and link back to the blogger that nominated you.
• Inform your nominees of their award nominations.
• Share three ways that you like to help others.
• Nominate as many bloggers as you like.
• Have fun!

Variety is the spice of life, as is my taste in blogs. Each of these authors bring something special and unique to the table:

So, there you go. Your blogs rock! But don’t worry, there’s no pressure to participate.

Now, I need to discuss three ways in which I help people. God knows I could add doing laundry to the list, but that would make for a boring discussion – almost as boring as doing laundry.

  1. Anyone who follows my blog knows that I am a stay-at-home dad. I resigned from my job in IT training and management last August to become a full-time parent. This blog was started in conjunction with that event. I use it to chronicle my journey as a stay-at-home parent and to provide entertainment and insight. My hope is that other parents can read it and learn that parenting never goes exactly as planned (far from it) and that you don’t have to be perfect to have a positive influence on your children’s lives.
  2. I am also a youth mentor, not just for my own kids, but for other kids as well. I coach both my oldest daughter’s and oldest son’s soccer teams and stay actively involved in the development of all their teammates. I truly enjoy doing so as it is a very rewarding experience for me. Through coaching I made many friends with the kids’ parents and have seen how the kids have grown both as soccer players and as people.
  3. In my former life (well, professionally anyway), I managed a small team of IT trainers. One of the most rewarding aspects of the role was being able to teach both our clients and other team members. Much of what I taught was on software use and internal processes, and the end result was an increase in the quality of the services our team provided and a increased comfort level of my teammates.

The recurring theme in all three is that I enjoy and get fulfillment by being a teacher. Where previously I got paid through money and compliments, now I get paid through smiles and friendship. Wow, that was cheesy. Where’s my tissue box?

Thanks again Kate for giving me the opportunity to put this post together. Good luck on your future endeavors!

Until next time – Chris

One thought on “The Lighthouse Award – Oh Yeah!

Leave a Reply

