On Reading and Writing

This will be a short, somewhat random post – an update, if you will.

I’ve been making decent headway in the novel over the past two weeks. Word count is now pushing 44,000 and late last night, I finished a core scene that I have been planning since the very first concepts of this story began to materialize four years ago. I feel a sense of completion and good about how it turned out. I’m sure I will revisit it several times in future drafts, and I’m looking forward to seeing what others think of it, but for now, I’m ready to continue to blaze forward (well, as blazing as a dad of four can get).

I have also been reading a lot! In a previous post, I mentioned that I had finished the Hunger Games trilogy. Since then, I have read an interesting mix of books: The Hatchet by Gary Paulsen, The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman, and half of Matched (before I abandoned it) by Ally Condie. I’ve also started Divergent by Veronica Roth (I know, color me trendy), and The Maze Runner by James Dashner.

Of the aforementioned, The Ocean at the End of the Lane was the best. It took a little getting into, but Gaiman has such a compelling artistic style that it was difficult to put down (or pause, in my case, as I listened to the audio version, which was narrated by the author, himself). He wove a tale in the likeness of Madeline L’Engel’s A Wrinkle in Time, which is one of my all time favorites. I highly suggest it if you enjoy a mix of sci-fi and fantasy, mostly targeted at the infamous young adult audience.

Matched, on the other hand, was a struggle. I wanted very much to like it and kept thinking, this has to get better, this has to get better. But, it never did and I gave up. It was another dystopian-style view of the future (though not as bleak as The Hunger Games, for example). But, the main character, Cassia, was flat and gutless, and I disliked her more and more as the novel progressed at its snail’s pace.

So, what have you done to celebrate milestones in your writing? What amazing (and not-so-amazing) books have you been reading? What did you think about any of the books I mentioned above? No spoilers about Divergent or The Maze Runner, please. 🙂

I also changed my blog’s theme. I still haven’t found “the one” that will suit me best, but what do you think about this theme (Hemingway Rewritten)? I didn’t create it, so be as critical about it as you want.

Until next time – Chris

2 thoughts on “On Reading and Writing

  1. Jason Chaney says:

    I’m getting ready to start The Road by Cormac McCarthy. I heard it is bleak, but very well written. I’m pretty far behind the times.

Leave a Reply

