The Unexpected Impacts of Blogging

It has been extremely surprising and gratifying to be receiving such a positive response to the Active Dad at Home blog. The site has received over 220 views since its inception three days ago. This stat nearly leaves me dumbfounded; I wasn’t sure if I would even break double-digits to be honest. So, thank you all for your support and please leave comments if there is anything you would like me to discuss in future posts!

Besides just views, I have been receiving comments in person about the blog, even from unexpected sources. Today presented such an event. Grayson (two year old) decided this morning that he wanted to use his Lightning potty (Lightning McQueen from Disney’s Cars). I certainly wasn’t going to discourage that, so I set up an area for him in front of the TV, placed the toilet on a towel for protective purposes, and helped him take off his diaper. I made a lapse in judgment by leaving on his t-shirt (more on this in a moment). He seemed happy to just sit there and watch TV and seemed excited to be using the potty.

I watched him for a few minutes, and since he was just sitting there happily, I stepped out of the room for a minute (another lapse in judgment). From the office, I hear the all-too-familiar call of, “I’m done!” Which, in and of itself is not bad. He certainly lasted far longer than any previous attempt. However, this was followed up by, “Oh… oh… oh no! I’m all wet!” So, of course, I rush in to find him standing in the middle of the room with the lower half of his shirt all wet and nowhere near his potty. I checked the Lightning potty. Not a drop. But, I did give him a lot of credit for trying, took off his shirt and put back on his diaper.

Then comes a knock at the door. Like most others I’m sure, my kids are completely fascinated whenever the doorbell rings or someone knocks. So, Grayson immediately bolts for the door, and sticks his face up against the window. “Kids! Kids! Look dad! Kids!” So, I too look out the window to see one of the other neighborhood parents with her kids and the kids that she watches during the day. Without thinking, I open the door and Grayson jumps out in nothing but his diaper and a smile because kids were at his house. The mom’s reaction, “Oh, where are your clothes?” or something to that effect. I may as well have hung a sign on the front door that read, “Welcome to Redneckville. Clothing is optional.”

And now to the point – She told me that she knew I would be home because she had read my blog. Hey, I’m not complaining here. It means people are actually reading it, plus it shows the power that blogging has regarding its ability to connect people. This to me, is the next step in the ability of social media to not only enable reconnecting with people from your past, but to bring together people in similar situations or that have similar interests. There’s your public service announcement for the day.

So, after putting clothes on Grayson, I put him and his sister in the stroller and we took a quick walk through the neighborhood with the mom and her crew (mom’s name omitted since I didn’t ask permission). It was nice to get out and get a little exercise.

Until next time – Chris (active dad at home)

One thought on “The Unexpected Impacts of Blogging

  1. jason craig says:

    Nice read Chris!! Keep up the good work! Potty training is fun isn’t it, especially in boys…My boy Caleb is doing pretty good going 10 100 ( a term from smokey and the bandit for going going #1 ). But when it comes to going 10 200 ( you know where I’m going with this lol)…well that’s a different story. We praise him for at least trying…he loves to go #2 behind the end tables in his pull up…so I attempted to put his potty behind the recliner….and that failed lol…but he goes on the big potty!!! Just not 10 200 lol…take care!

Leave a Reply

